General Facts

Area: 241,139 sq km (93,104 sq miles).


Population: 21,620,000 (1999)


Population Density: 89.7 per sq km.


Capital: Kampala. Population: Approximately 1.2 Million.


Geography: Uganda shares borders with Sudan to the north, Kenya to the east, Lake Victoria to the southeast, Tanzania and Rwanda to the south and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west. Kampala is on the shores of Lake Victoria, and the White Nile flowing out of the lake traverses much of the country. The varied scenery includes tropical forest and tea plantations on the slopes of the snowcapped Ruwenzori Mountains, the arid plains of the Karamoja, the lush, heavily populated Buganda, the rolling savannah of Acholi, Bunyoro, Tororo and Ankole, and the fertile cotton area of Teso.


Government: Republic. Gained independence from the UK in 1962. Head of State: President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni since 1986. Head of Government: Prime Minister Apollo Nsibambi since 1999.


Language: English is the official language, with Luganda and Swahili also widely spoken.


Religion: 60 per cent Christian, 32 per cent Animist and five per cent Muslim.


Time: GMT + 3.

\r\n\r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n \r\n

Jan 1

New Year's Day.

Jan 26

NRM Aniversary

(Variable)Eid al-Adha (Feast of the Sacrifice),Idd el Fitr, Idd Aduha.

Mar 8

International Women's Day..


Good Friday

(Variable)Easter Sunday


Easter Monday.

May 1

Labour Day.

Jun 3

Martyrs' Day.

Jun 9

National Heroes' Day.

Oct 9

Independence Day.

Dec 25

Christmas Day.

Dec 26

Boxing Day.



In addition to the above list, all Public Holidays observed by the Host Country are also observed.




Uganda currency is the Uganda Shilling. Uganda shilling is the currency of this East African country at present and is the stable currency of this country. Before Uganda Shilling there had been some other currencies. But now Uganda shilling is used in every money related transactions of this country. Uganda currency code according to the ISO 4217 is UGX. One Uganda shilling is subdivided into hundred parts and these are known as cents. The symbol that is used to indicate the Uganda currency is Ush.
\r\n Uganda currency that is known as the Uganda shilling is divided into hundred cents. Uganda shilling has both coins and banknotes denominations. The denominations of Uganda coins are, 10, 50, 100, 200 and 500 shillings. The banknotes have denomination of 1000, 5000, 10000, 20000, and 50000 shillings. All the coins and the banknotes are regulated by the central bank of Uganda that is the Bank of Uganda.
\r\n Before the use of Uganda shilling, this country was using another currency. This currency was the East African Shilling. Uganda shilling replaced this East African Shilling in the year 1966. The other currencies that are also in wide use in this East African country are the US Dollar and the Pound Sterling.
\r\n The current currency that is in use in Uganda have come to be the stable currency after the first shilling was replaced by it. Uganda currency has at the beginning of its use many low denominations. Recently, the Bank of Uganda, that circulates and regulates the currency of this country, is considering to withdraw the low denomination banknotes from the market because of their disintegrating conditions.